The county general election, as well as state and federal primaries are set for Thursday, Aug. 6, with polls open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The early voting period for the upcoming election saw 2,442 voters cast their ballots, which election officials said was more than they expected.

For Thursday’s election, voting will not take place at the Rhea County Election Commission but at each voters’ respective polling location. For information on polling locations, visit or contact the election commission at (423) 775-6111.

On the Democratic side of the primaries, Marquita Bradshaw, Gary Davis, Robin Kimbrough, James Mackler and Mark Pickrell are vying for the Democratic Party nomination for Senate. Democrats Noelle Bivens and Christopher J. Hale are running in the race for Democratic nomination for the U.S. House of Representatives.

No Democrat is seeking the office of District 12 state senator this election, and Dean Sparks is seeking the Democratic nomination for the District 31 seat in the state House of Representatives.

On the Republican side, Clifford Adkins, Natisha Brooks, Byron Bush, Roy Dale Cope, Terry Dicus, Tom Emerson Jr., George Flinn Jr., Bill Hagerty, Jon Henry, Kent A. Morrell, Glen Neal Jr., John Osborne, Aaron Pettigrew, David Shuster and Manny Sethi are seeking the GOP nomination for U.S. Senate.

In the Republican primary for the U.S. House, incumbent U.S. Rep. Scott DesJarlais is facing challengers Doug Meyer and Randy Sharp.

In the Republican primary for state senator and state representative, both State Sen. Ken Yager and State Rep. Ron Travis are both running unopposed in the primary.

The Aug. 6 election is also the county general election with various county office seats up for grabs.

Voter is District 7 will be voting in a special Rhea County Commission election where Jim Vincent and Masen Cheeks are facing off for the seat. Vincent was appointed to the position after the passing of longtime Rhea County Commission Ronnie Raper. Per state law, a special election must be held during the next county general election.

Also on the ballot will be Rhea County Assessor of Property Debbie Byrd and Rhea County Road Supervisor, both of who are running unopposed.

In school board races, B.J. McCoy, Bimbo McCawley, Brenda Hill and Chip Pendergrass are all running unopposed. In the District 6 race for school board, Wayne Cox and incumbent Carroll Henderson are vying for the position.

Spring City residents will see a longer ballot than other voters throughout the county, as Spring City residents will be voting in the mayoral election, as well as for two city commission seats.

In the mayoral race, Pam Burger Anderson, Woody Evans, Bailey Hufstetler, Reba Murphy and Jason Price are all vying for the position. For the two Spring City Commission seats, voters will be asked to select two from the following: Lee Booker, Kevin Jenkins, Leon Locke and Jeff “Bimbo” Rhear.

Election results will posted on The Herald-News website and Facebook page after polls close on Thursday.