Early voting for the upcoming Dayton City Council election begins Thursday as a mayoral seat and two city council seats are up for grabs.

Early voting for the regular election begins on Thursday, April 1, and continues until Friday, April 16. As in previous elections, early voters will cast their ballots at the Rhea County Election Commission, and polls will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday, and on Saturday from 9 a.m. to noon. Polls will be closed on Friday, April 2, in observance of Good Friday.

Incumbent Dayton Mayor Gary Louallen is seeking to retain his seat and is running against challenger Hurley Marsh.

Incumbent city council members Bill Graham and Steve Randolph are also seeking to keep their seats and will be running against challengers Bo Kaylor, Paul Soyster and Angie Pierce Stumbo.

All voters must show photo identification prior to casting their ballots. For more information on the upcoming elections, contact the Rhea County Election Commission at (423) 775-7816.